Higher and Higher: Improving the Support for Developmental Writing

Click HERE to Register for the Webinar

When: Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Time: 12pm San Francisco / 1pm Denver / 2pm Chicago / 3pm New York (find your time zone)

Duration: 30 minutes, plus 15 minutes for Q&A

Cost: None

Certificates of Participation: Yes, provided to attendees of the live webcasts.

Recorded: Yes, and emailed to all registrants.

Dalton State College’s developmental English program saw pass rates of only 50 percent for several years. To rectify this situation and improve pass rates, the College implemented rigorous improvements to the program as part of its Quality Enhancement Plan.

The results had a tremendous, positive impact on student success. In only three years, overall student success rates have increased from an average of 50 percent to 87 percent. Students who complete the developmental English program move on to English Composition I and complete that course at higher rates than the overall student population (84 percent versus 73 percent).

Join us to hear from Dr. Jenny Crisp as she discusses the changes that Dalton State College put into place within its developmental English program and the lessons that she and her colleagues learned. Their experiences demonstrate how a strong community, the effective use of institutional resources, the successful integration of technology and classroom instruction, and consistent student engagement can lead to fantastic learning outcomes.